Wabash City Schools

Skip to main content

Wabash Hall of Distinction Elects 5 New Members

The Wabash Hall of Distinction inducted its 4th class this past Saturday at the Wabash Middle School Auditorium.  Hall of Distinction classes can be found on our district website.  The 2017 Class included David Haist from the Wabash High School Class of 1969; Kim Grogg Marin from the Class of 1976; W.C. Mills from the Class of 1913; Julia Swain Thom from the Class of 1922; and Marie Daugherty Webster from the Class of 1878.
The Wabash City Schools Hall of Distinction was established to preserve the history and tradition of Wabash City Schools.  The Hall seeks to connect the successes of past graduates with the potential of our current and future students.  
Selection criteria and nomination forms can be found on the Wabash City Schools District site.  Below are highlights of this year's inductees.

Marie Daughtery Webster, Wabash High School Class of 1878

Quilt Designer; Author; Lecturer; Early Entrepreneur; Marion, Indiana

 Home serves as the Quilter’s Hall of Fame


W.C. Mills, Wabash High School Class of 1913

Teacher, Missionary, “Father of Community Service in Wabash”

Wabash Distinguished Citizen, Scouting Advocate


Julia Swain Thom, Wabash High School Class of 1922

Ophthalmologist; a Noted Child Child Psychiatrist; Well Known Weaver and

Fabric Artist


David A. Haist, Wabash High School Class of 1969

Business and Community Leader; Member of The Indiana Academy; Philanthropist; Executive VP and COO of Do It Best Corp, Managing Partner with Barnes and Thornburg


Kim Grogg Marin, Wabash High School Class of 1976

Singer; Actor; Drama Director at Hewitt School in Manhattan, Storyteller; Teacher;

Nominated for MAC Awards in 2011 & 2012; 2016 MAC Award Winner; Worked on over 100 Musical Theater Productions